Tags

, ,

You know that when a recipe comes out of book that looks like this: My mother's recipe book And…when the recipe has been typed by a “sister” and handed over to you as an heirloom from her Austrian heritage, it’s going to be good! In memory of Sister Savel I received this recipe from “Sister Savel” when I was 13 years old. She told me, in a very grandmotherly way, that every woman needs a recipe that is all her own. What that really means is that you know a recipe that your family expects you to make at every single home gathering and potluck for the next 20+ years. I’ve adapted some of the initial ingredients to my own tastes over the years. I switch out sunflower for olive oil and dry mustard for whole grain, but otherwise – this recipe remains pretty much the same. My family still comes together regularly, and often get excited when this salad arrives on the table. Who gets excited over salad dressing? I know…I don’t get it either, but it’s time to share:

Caesar Salad Dressing to feed a group

(Enough for two heads of Romaine) Caesar Salad Dressing 6 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 heaping tbsp whole grain mustard

3 garlic cloves crushed

1/4 tsp sugar

Dash of Tabasco Liberal dash of Worcestershire sauce

1 raw egg

Course Sea or Kosher salt and fresh pepper

Put all ingredients in jar and shake. Shake. Shake. Shake. Shake. Shake.
2 tbsp fresh tarragon & 1/2 cup parsley (mixed in with romaine). Put dressing on just prior to serving. Toss with shaved Parmesan. (You can also add croutons and bacon bits if you are so pleased by such additions). Final note: Best ensure your bedmate has some!
