Tags

, , ,

I am rubbish at dieting. I need all the help I can get in order to maintain motivation to not put myself into the most delicious of food comas. The main reason is that I love food, I love to eat, I love to snack, I love to make special things, I love pretty much all things edible and will emotionally eat them then dab the table to get the crumbs. I’ve always preferred working out harder rather than changing my diet because I have it locked firmly in my mind that I cook pretty healthy. True, but I also love to eat out, love greasy Indian food soaked in ghee, McDonald’s hamburgers (I think it’s cruel the way they’ve brought the word “crave” into their marketing as many times as they can without seeming blatantly obvious), midnight snacks, candy, and lots and lots of chocolate. To eat healthy for me means that it has to look both visually appealing and taste at least slightly better than decent. Each day, my goal is to post my food choices and their ingredients, sizes/weights, and composition – here’s to 30 days of clean eating: day one healthy eating challenge

Breakfast:

3/4 cup cheerios

1 cup almond milk

1 tbsp flax

1 banana

……………………..

Lunch:

Chopped: Romaine, yellow pepper, dill, cherry tomatoes, and cucumber

1 tbsp parmesan

4 oz crab/pollock

2 tsp olive oil

2 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 tsp whole grain mustard

………………………..

Supper:

6 large shrimp

steamed broccoli with kosher salt

1 tsp olive oil

1/2 cup whole wheat spaghetti

The hardest part of this day was most certainly supper. When you put one teaspoon of oil on a bowl, that let’s face it is mostly broccoli, you have to do some really imaginative justice to such a meal. I kept telling myself that if a great master like Michelangelo can eat tagliatelle pasta and olive oil with a little bit of pepper as his favourite meal, and deem it worthy of consumption every day of his working life – then surely I can eat it for one night.

