Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Day 2 is hard. I know this before I even start the day. Everyone knows that Day 1 you are still probably riding the junk binge you had the night before, just to…you know…”get that stuff out the house”. I’m still justifying the rightness of such behaviour as “not wasteful” when the pasta with a teaspoon of olive oil hits my empty stomach. I’m not panicking yet, but guaranteed I will be by day 2. My resolve is poor and I know this about myself, so I stock my fridge with stuff for the first week that is truly the best, best, best I can do, and for day two – that is beef tenderloin for dinner. Who is going to argue with a filet on their plate – no one – and it is the leanest beef you can buy. So, here is my case for tenderloin. It’s expensive, I know – but four steaks will feed two people for two meals: a supper and lunch the next day. The best thing about splurging on tenderloin is that for two days of a challenge (especially at the beginning) you are extremely happy with at least one meal. I think that’s important for success and personally…I need the soft hand off into (starvation) or … I mean, healthy food choices and lifestyle.

A note on cooking tenderloin. I hate ruining steak, and I can EASILY ruin it on the grill for some reason that has to do with lack of control over fire. As such, I cook tenderloin on the stove top and in the oven – it’s more predictable and comes out perfect every time. All you need is a pan that can go from high heat stove top to oven. Season the meat with kosher salt 20 minutes prior to cooking. Then it goes down like this: Preheat the oven to 500 degrees, THEN, put the pan on the stovetop at medium-high heat with just a touch of olive oil. As the oil starts to steam drop the steaks in and do not touch them for four minutes. At the four minute mark, turn them and pop them in the oven for four minutes. Let rest on a separate plate for 5 minutes. Perfect medium rare, every time.

Just one more side note – I am the mother of a 5 month old baby girl who does not sleep through the night. That probably says enough that this next tidbit is completely unwarranted: I’m never giving up coffee. I’m not only not giving up coffee it must be a double espresso with a half cup of milk to make my morning perfect. I get up in the morning just to drink cafe au lait – so there is just no way green tea or cleansing hot water and lemon (or whatever is popular right now) is going to cut it. It probably won’t make it into my breakfast pictures very much as I have it delivered to me in bed most mornings and then don’t eat my breakfast until around 2 1/2 hours later. In between, I can promise you, I’m drinking a litre of water. day 2 of 30 day healthy eating

Breakfast:

1 package instant plain oatmeal

1 cup soy milk

1 apple

Cafe au lait

…………

Lunch:

red leaf lettuce chopped tomatoes and cucumbers

4 oz chicken skewers

1 oz feta cheese

2 tsp olive oil

2 tsp white balsamic

1 tsp greek yoghurt

oregano and fresh ground pepper

………..

Supper:

4 oz tenderloin

mashed steamed cauliflower

1 tbsp shaved parmesan

1/2 cup edamame with fleur de lis salt (or any other coarse rock salt)

……

Dessert for 2:

2 frozen bananas

1 tbsp peanut butter

1/4 tsp cocoa

Tenderloin got me through the day. Frozen bananas most definitely got me through the night. I may need to make this “ice cream” again…and again as it is painfully easy to make.

Banana Peanut Butter “Ice Cream” (Serves 2)

Place bananas and peanut butter in food processor. Process until smooth. Eat. Peanut butter Banana I’m already looking forward to tenderloin for lunch!

