Tags

, , ,

Snacking is not wrong. I’ve heard over and over that if you want to be successful in healthy eating: change your three meal mindset to a 5-6 meal mindset. Done, because snacking is not wrong. (As long as it isn’t midnight…) Actually, snacks saved my life today because I was HUNGRY. I was patting myself on the back for getting up nice and early and making a hard-boiled egg, but that “nice and early” turned into a nightmare around 1030am when I started asking around for how early eating could conceivably considered “lunch”. I looked at a long list online of different snacks that might qualify as snack-worthy. Cut up veggies, like a red pepper or a cucumber, at 1030 in the morning just seemed gross, 18 pistachios with some dried fruit sounded good — but I’d have to hit the store, I finally settled on edamame. There was some leftover in the fridge from the night before and I thought that beans might fill me up quickly. Done. Perfect. I made it to lunch in tact. I ran into the same issue again around 230pm, but this time I was able to scrounge around into the back of a cupboard and found a bag of gold: tamari-roasted almonds. Yes…10 of those got me through to supper. Thank you snack items, you saved me from stuffing my face with a McDonald’s cheeseburger! Everything I made for the day is pretty straight forward. I roasted some shallot, yellow and orange pepper the night before and it was well worth the minimal amount of effort required. The recipe is easy enough.

Oven Roasted Peppers and Shallot (Serves 1)Shallot and peppers Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Chop 3 shallots and 1/2 a pepper each yellow and orange. Cook for 30 minutes. The long cooking time allows the onions to caramelize. Let cool and pop in the fridge for the next day.

For dinner we grilled salmon. I’m really picky about salmon because I love it almost as much as steak. I always hover above the grill watching carefully for that moment when it has reached the status of “not undercooked”. That is the moment that you’ve got to pull it off the grill. I wanted to take a picture of the delicate moment when fish goes from not as edible to delicious, but “overcooked” loomed as a threat and I was far too intent on eating, so I got the “still undercooked” status picture: undercooked salmon This salmon is literally 2 minutes away from done. That last redness disappeared into a clear juice and we were eating within the next 10 minutes. The only way to really know that you’ve done your due diligence with your fish is that it “feathers” into delicious moist morsels on your plate. So many times I’ve eaten fish that has been ruined: overcooked, dry, disgusting. Fish should be juicy like any other meat, and if you can get it on the grill, you get the added deliciousness of the crispy thin edge!

Breakfast:day 3 of 30 Healthy Eating Challenge

1/4 cup walnuts

1 apple

hard-boiled egg

1 cup almond milk

………

Snack:

1/2 cup edamame

fleur de lis salt

……

Lunch:

3 oz tenderloin

1/2 multigrain wrap

1 tsp greek yoghurt

1 tbsp chipotle salsa

sliced tomatoes

red leaf lettuce

roasted peppers and shallots

……

Supper:

4 oz grilled salmon with  montreal steak spice

1/2 cup quinoa

steamed broccoli and cauliflower

1 tbsp shaved parmesan

As a final note my wrap was seriously overstuffed. It was waaay too much food for half a wrap. I can say with all honesty, however, I didn’t mind. The tenderloin was the delectable treat I was expecting it to be and the roasted veggies added the sweetness I was craving. What a good food day.

