Tags

, , , , , , ,

Breakfast:day 5 of 30 Healthy Eating Challenge

Refrigerator Oatmeal (recipe below)

1/2 cup frozen raspberries

…….

Lunch on the go:

2 tsp olive oil

2 tsp red wine vinegar

1/3 cup chickpeas

1/3 cup quinoa

cherry tomatoes

chopped orange pepper

3 oz grilled salmon

Supper:

Salmon Sashimi

Dynamite Roll

Salmon-Avocado Roll

Spicy Salmon Roll

Yam-Avocado Roll

It was the kind of day where I felt as though I was on the go all day, and then left the city for the weekend to visit family in rush hour. So, all in all, I was in the car for 5 hours or so through the day. I left the house at 11am for a very important date. A friend invited me to a VIP coffee tasting at a coffee roasters in east end Toronto. Pilot Coffee Roasters offers “flights” of coffee tasting.

pilot coffee roasters

This presented me with my first challenge at taking a healthy lunch with me and scarfing it down before listening to some extremely scientific explanations of both coffee process, roasting, and brewing. I got all the important questions out, namely, is terroir for real?; and, why is it that the coffee barista culture has turned decidedly male? The conversation was entertaining and the coffee experience was pretty good too. You always know when coffee is “great” when you get an emotional boost from it. The moment the music sounded better and I felt a lot better about life and just wanted to chat…that’s when I knew.

Further into the day, I was face-to-face with the irony of going to the extra work to drag my healthy food out of the house with me, and then met the dilemma of dinner on the road. In the end…sushi. If that’s not healthy – that’s the best we could do. Yes, that’s right…All-you-can-eat sushi was the best we could do. And it was awesome. 😉

Refrigerator Oatmeal (from The Yummy Life):

Ingredients
  • 1/4 cup uncooked old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup low-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons dried chia seeds
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon raspberry jam, preserves, or spread
  • 1/3 cup raspberries

Put all ingredients in a container and leave in the fridge overnight for a delicious experience in the morning.

PS. My favourite coffee at Pilot was Ethiopian Gera – citrus, mellow, no bitter aftertaste – everything you want in a coffee if you’re going to drink it black.

