Tags

, , , ,

It’s hard eating sparse around my family – there are just too many amazing food options and a bunch of people willing and interested in preparing it for you! Like my breakfast this morning. Made for me! Love it! Then I saw that 10 pound crystal butter dish. I wondered for a millisecond: there is probably butter on this toast and egg. Then I gobbled it up. Mmm…not just butter, bacon in the omelette. My mom is passing by saying, “Just 5 Weight Watchers points!” Alright. I can see it’s delicious.

At least I know what’s coming for lunch, and I’ve already prepped myself with what 3oz of pork looks like in my mind. I can do it.

day 7 of 30 Healthy Eating Challenge

Breakfast:

1 egg omelette with bacon crumble, green onions and tabasco

1 slice rye bread toasted

butter

……..

Lunch: (recipes for each below)

3(ish)oz pulled pork

kale-cabbage slaw

1/4 tsp bbq sauce

small whole wheat wrap

…..

Supper: no dressing

Chicken breast

Romaine and “parmesan”

It was another supper on the road, which meant eating at an A&W. A place that shall hence forth be known for having no clue about salad. Burgers, maybe. Salad – no. Wendy’s at least has some decent toppings.

My brother’s Pulled pork recipe:

Fill the crock pot with a piece of pork loin

1 can beer

1/3 cup soy sauce

Worcestershire sauce

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

Salt and pepper

Put all ingredients in crock pot on low for 5-6 hours.

Kale Cabbage Slaw

chopped up kale, cabbage and one green apple

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp red wine vinegar

1 tbsp whole grain mustard

The small victory of getting through this weekend is most certainly the plans we have made for both the summer and the winter family vacations. This summer we have decided on a marina in Southwestern Ontario on Lake Huron. I’ve never summered on Lake Huron as we are not cottage country people, so I was unprepared for how beautiful (and large) Lake Huron looks. It’s oceanic without the rolling waves, and so large that even though both Lake Ontario and Lake Erie (the other lakes we were considering) are both ready for sailing this very moment – Lake Huron has yet to have the ice completely melt off.

Lake Huron

I’m excited to start this next chapter in our exploration of Ontario. My family has always lived West – and I think we are (at least partially) still stuck in Western mindset with regards to travel. We keep leaving our own area to go explore and yet have never explored our own area very much. This summer we aim to change that about Lake Huron! Bonus points that we’re even able to swim in it!

Look at how Eastern we’re getting! Except for family winter vacation – we’re booked into Carlsbad, California at Seapointe. All I can say is – amazing, an ocean view – I’m so happy we’re going to do this vacation as an entire family. It’s one of everyone’s favourites, and my partner will get see the west coast for the first time!

All in all, a wonderful weekend – with food choices that were at the very least – decently healthy!

