Tags

, ,

Turkey BurgersAmazing food shall happen today. It shall happen because a good Monday is a state of mind, and because I have been doing this healthy eating (and working out) for a week now. I made it a week, yet, when I stepped on the scale: nothing.

I’m starting to despair. Nothing, really? Yep, nothing. At first I’m really angry because I have been starving, then I think there’s something wrong with the scale so I walk over to the gym and use the scale there. Still nothing. Fine…acceptance – perhaps my weekend was a little more wonderful than I thought. I did eat all-you-can-eat sushi, one of my meals fit on a FULL-sized plate (imagine?!), and I did have frozen yoghurt. So, perhaps that all adds up to nothing, which is good I suppose – at least it is not up.

I’m redoubling my efforts, making sure to weigh and measure every morsel today, and in the meantime also try my best to make my food look colourful and fun.

day 8 of 30 Healthy Eating ChallengeBreakfast: Broil 6 minutes:

whole wheat English Muffin

sliced beefsteak tomato

1 oz goat cheese

oregano

Lunch:

1 slice toasted rye bread

3 oz turkey breast

2 tbsp avocado

sliced red onion and cherry tomato

Supper: (recipe below)

1 whole wheat English Muffin

mustard

sliced red onion

4 oz turkey burger

red leaf lettuce

sliced avocado and cherry tomatoes

vinaigrette

Delicious Turkey Burgers (makes 6):

  • 1-1.5kg ground turkey
  • 1 oz dried breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 onion, finely diced
  • 2 egg whites, lightly beaten
  • small handful chopped fresh dill
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled and minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Blend all ingredients with your hands and form into patties. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and cook 30-45 minutes, or until the thickest burger reaches an internal temperature of 180 degrees.

