Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Cutting BoardAllow me to introduce you to my favourite cutting board. Around a year ago, my parents went to Roatan, Honduras because they were considering moving to Central America as a retirement spot for 1/2 the year. They went with my aunt and uncle and another couple for 4 weeks to check it out, and when they returned this gem was mine.

I love this cutting board because it is very wonky – in the transition from Central America to Canada something happened to the wood. Within a week moisture drained from the board and it began to warp and bend slightly towards the back – meaning this cutting board no longer lies flat. Now…about the graphic carefully set in the board. As I first unwrapped the board my dad was watching, waiting for my reaction. I stared at it wondering if it was a squirrel or a turtle? Is it a squirrel? …or a turtle with…cat ears and a bear paw? I still play the game of identify the animal. The best thing is that I know my parents CHOSE this cutting board. They know what I like, they know what I like looks like, and then they chose this. There’s a really sly smile in the board and that’s part of what I love about it. I display its mutant animal art and its wobbles proudly at many dinner parties.

day 22 of 30 Healthy Eating Challenge

Breakfast:

3/4 cup Kashi Go Lean

1 cup almond milk

1 slightly bruised apple

…..

Lunch:

Broccoli

1/2 cup chickpeas

1/2 cup quinoa

chopped almonds

Tamari Dressing

…..

1/4 cup Vegan Chocolate Mousse

1 Avocado

1/4 cup cocao

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup almond milk

…..

Supper:

1/2 cup quinoa

1/2 cup chickpeas

heart of palm, artichoke hearts, broccoli, sunflower seeds, red pepper flakes

Tamari Dressing

on the wonky cutting board

Today I’m 52 days from the point when I started exercising. 52 days has given me some pause for thought over the journey of the year past. I’m happy to be where I am at today and grateful that my body was strong enough to make it through a second pregnancy and come out the other side…still strong enough to make it back to the baseline I started at. I carry on into the next 52 days, the next 52 weeks with, perhaps, a few more wobble-y places, but proud nonetheless.

So, this is 39:body over a year

2 months pregnant

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

6 months pregnant

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

9 months pregnant

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

6 months post partum

.

.

.

.

.

.

