Tags

, , ,

I’m in the process of a couple of projects for Hunter right now and have not had the opportunity to post, but movement is still occurring – just offline. My main focus this week is creating the loose schedule so that he and I know where we are at each day. I want to include a good dose of outdoor play and indoor activities. I have even got some TV programs or special movie afternoons in mind, but they are more treats than the norm. First things first, I wanted to find a way to start the day with a solid routine element. I have lived with this little boy for years now and if anything is 100% crystal clear to me it is that he loves routine. To tell you the truth, I kind of like it too; I’m a disciplined personality type and so once a routine is in place I can just fall into its beautiful mindlessness that magically gets things done over time.

Instill a Strong Sense of Rhythm and Routine.

Based on my own experiences and observation of my son, I am led to believe that children thrive in routine. They feel safe with consistency and when they know what’s coming next. My goal is to try to create a sense of daily and monthly routine, but also continue to acknowledge yearly and seasonal routines for both my children. I like the idea that it grounds them in space and time and provides a strong sense of security. With these ideas in mind I have come to: Surya Namaskar. A simple set of yoga postures that is commonly referred to as the Sun Salutation. For early-childhood explanations I will refer to it as both, but explain it to my son as a “good morning sun” set of exercises. This has proved a little more challenging than when I first set out, because while I found a child-focused video (starting around 13:00 minute mark) to guide us in the first few weeks, Hunter also requested “cards”. I agreed – cards is a good idea, even though I’m not really that great at drawing. I think the important part is not exactly the picture, but that I can put them in pockets on a piece of foam-core and he can easily look at them and get their positions and meanings once he understands each. When I started reading about how to make the positions fun for children I liked the focus on self /breath and earth, thus I added something about the philosophical understanding of each posture as well. (This is what has proved most difficult.) I sit around thinking about the posture and trying my best to figure out what best is being expressed. So far, I’ve finished 6 and I feel tapped. I have 6 to go! I still have just under 10 days – so I’ll keep at it: yoga cards

